Societies Become Great

This is a blog I write for those of you who need a little reminder that organic farming matters and others of you who aren’t sure if you really want to jump on the bandwagon…

The story begins Saturday January 19, 2013…

I am not sure why exactly it hit me, but somewhere around 4 pm this past Saturday afternoon, I got the urge to do something different than the normal. I did not want to spend another night going to dinner and a movie. Unsure of where to begin my search for adventure, I turned to my trusty pal, Google…

This landed me in a jam packed room in locally owned Remedy Coffee Shop in the heart of Old City in Knoxville. As I searched the room, I was amazed that only a few hours earlier I had been completely unaware of this event that so many others had filled a room to be a part of. I began to wonder, what else was going on that I did not know about?

As the wheels in my mind began to turn, I searched the room, looking at the people, then the collage of flyers on the back wall posting events from local bands releasing their albums to Farmer’s Markets all over the city of Knoxville, and lastly, my eyes led me to the beautiful photos hanging on the wall…How had I missed them? I could barely take my eyes off the photos; they were captivating, refreshing, and natural. (Literally)

You might wonder, “what were the photos displaying?”

Vibrant, fresh, juicy carrots, apples, and tomatoes accompanied by dark brown and deep green fields. As I glanced from canvas to canvas, I could feel my hunger rising up. It was beautiful. Where had these pictures been taken? That’s when I saw it..

These photos had been taken at Knoxville’s very own community farm–Beardsley Farm.

I was so encouraged that this beauty had come from the city I call home. It was in that moment that I realized, agriculture is art, and it is an art that holds much power.

You see, agriculture has the power to end starvation or to indulge only the fortunate. It has the power to enrich our Earth or leave it destitute. Agriculture has the power to nourish our bodies or to poison them. It has the power to heal or to destroy. Agriculture has the power to leave beauty in our sights or destruction in our hands.

Agriculture is a powerful form of art, and like any piece of art, we are sending out a message. But just as an artist must ponder what they desire to create, so we must ask, what kind of masterpiece are we hoping to behold. It is question that must be thoughtfully answered because the end product does not belong solely to a farmer, but rather it belongs to us all; it belongs to all who desire a home that can cultivate life and nourish our bodies. We all need food don’t we? But what happens when the art form we choose brings death to the source of life?

Yes, I am talking about organic farming. I will not claim it is not a fad and a part of the hipster movement, but I will also not claim that there is no truth in it. If we take a step back, strip away the media, and evaluate the facts, we may be surprised at what we find.

Organic farming is more than a scam to make money and a bunch of health guru’s obsessed “going green.” Organic farming is a form of art dedicated to holistic health– from the nutrition of our environment and its resources to the mouths that are sustained by it.

I know there is much speculation about the matter, so here are some facts to get people started:

What does organic farming/gardening even mean?

According to the International Federation of Organic Agriculture Movements:

  • Work as much as possible within closed system, utilize local resources
  • Maintain soil fertility
  • Avoid all pollution from agricultural production
  • Produce food of high quality and of sufficient quantity
  • Reduce use of non‐renewable resources
  • Allow producers to earn a living through their work and develop full human potential

Is it a scam to make money?

Organic farming requires strict certification if it is approved by the USDA. There are also other organizations that certify. However, with certification comes fees and certification costs and practices that require money and time; thus, prices for organic products may be more.

According to the USDA:
Actual certification costs or fees vary widely depending on the certifying agent and the size, type, and complexity of your operation. Certification costs may range from a few hundred to several thousand dollars.
Before you apply, it is important to understand your certifier’s fee structure and billing cycle. Typically, there is an application fee, annual renewal fee, assessment
on annual production or sales, and inspection fees.

Do they actually do anything different than traditional or modern practices of agriculture?

USDA states:
Any land used to produce raw organic commodities must not have had prohibited substances applied to it for the past three years. Until the full 36-month transition period is met, you may not:
– Sell, label, or represent the product as “organic”
– Use the USDA organic or certifying agent’s seal

A few regulations (according to the USDA):

  • All inputs must be approved substances
  • Natural products can be used, unless otherwise prohibited by the national list (e.g. arsenic, nicotine sulfate)
  • Synthetic products cannot be used, unless there is an exception on the national list (e.g. copper sulfate, hydrated lime, horticultural oils used for  pest control)
  • No prohibited substances  for three years prior to 
    harvest of first certified organic crop
  • Defined boundaries and buffer zones to prevent unintended application of, or contact with prohibited substances
  • Must be managed to NOP guidelines and certified through accredited agency

 

This is only scratching the surface of the purpose, goal, and art of organic farming. I hope that this information will encourage those of you who already believe in the practice of organic production and inspire you to reach out to others with information; for those of you who aren’t quite sold on it, I hope that this sparks an interest that causes you to push past the stigmatisms that have been associated with it, and to do a little research.

I leave with a quote from the Greek Proverbs:

“A society grows great when old men plant trees whose shade they know they shall never sit in.”

I am proud to be a part of the Knoxville community, and it’s efforts to become great.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Societies Become Great

Leave a comment